Hodges Figgis circa 1900

Welcome to Hodges Figgis

From where our story began in 10 Skinner's Row in 1768, to 56-58 Dawson Street today, Hodges Figgis has become an essential element of Dublin's cultural tradition, sharing expert bookselling and tailored service with ten generations of loyal customers.

From James Joyce to Sally Rooney, Samuel Beckett to Fintan O'Toole, Hodges Figgis is a treasure trove of Irish talent. Our Irish Department represents the largest stock of books relating to Ireland to be found anywhere in the world.

There's a wealth of other reading to discover within our walls too, from Fiction to Philosophy, Cookery to Children's and an excellent range of academic books, as well as gifts, games, cards, stationery and more...

Bestselling Books at Hodges Figgis

This is just a glimpse of what you'll find in-store where you can explore top titles across genres, handpicked for our readers.

Snowflake
Abroad in Japan
Juno Loves Legs
Dune
Minor Detail
The Trading Game
Small Things Like These
Foster
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Missing Persons, Or My Grandmother's Secrets
Puckoon
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
One Day
My Father's House
Normal People
Prophet Song

Irish Book of the Month

Irish Book of the Month

Irish Book of the Month

Hagstone

by Sinéad Gleeson

Haunting and insidiously eerie, Gleeson's mesmerising debut finds an artist resident on a secluded island receive a commission from a mysterious commune called the Inions.

FIND OUT MORE

One Dublin One Book

One Dublin One Book

One Dublin One Book

Snowflake

by Louise Nealon

Perfect reading for fans of Sally Rooney, Nealon’s spiky yet compassionate debut charts the progress of a rural Irish girl enrolling at Trinity College, Dublin and deftly examines how our childhood experiences are ingrained upon our character.

Bestselling Irish Fiction

Normal People
The Bee Sting
Apeirogon
Milkman
The Queen of Dirt Island
The Third Policeman
Exciting Times
The Sea
Leonard and Hungry Paul
Night Boat to Tangier
Dubliners
The Last September
Reading in the Dark
Prophet Song
Boys Don't Cry
The Amusements
You Have to Make Your Own Fun Around Here
Slant

From Our Children's Department

Peppa Pig: Peppa Goes to Ireland
Artemis Fowl
Ireland (newspaper edition)
Greenwild: The World Behind The Door
The Tiger Who Came to Tea
The Gruffalo
Each Peach Pear Plum
Hell Breaks Loose
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
Where The Wild Things Are
Postman Bear
Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief
Dogger
Owl Babies
Grumpy Monkey
Dragon Post

Our Re-Fit Has Begun!

Our Re-Fit Has Begun!

We're excited to share the progress with you, and deliver a spectacular new look to our customers when we are done. As always, our booksellers are in store to help you navigate new and moving sections during this time. Thank you for your patience, and we look forward to revealing our new look! Opening hours remain the same as always.

Customer Orders

Customer Orders

Whether you're in Ireland or beyond, we are here for special orders, reservations, and delivery services. Need assistance or want to reserve a book? Our friendly booksellers are here to help.